Attitude of Gratitude

Every day I walk across Tower Bridge to get to work and back. Yesterday was very different though, I couldn’t tell you why. Every other day the bridge will lift, the people and cars will stop and the tourists will be in awe about watching a boat come through. I never saw the fascination, I always just grunted that I was now going to be 10 minutes late for work…

Working on myself these past few weeks, I have been reading and doing techniques to better myself and my life. One of these techniques was to live in the present moment. So I decided to do it when the giant cruise ship came powering through, and I admit it was huge!

As I watched it come through slowly, the people on the ship started to wave at everyone on the bridge, and what was lovely is the fact that most of the people on the bridge waved back. Now I don’t know why but this made me feel happy and I found myself smiling. The only thing I can put it down too is the small kind gestures of these humans waving back. I thought it was so great to see people actually being kind for once. Even if it was just a small wave.

The smiles of the people on the cruise ship made me smile. And this made me feel gratitude. The most important and life changing emotion you can feel. I felt grateful that I had eyes to witness what had just happened. I felt grateful that I had a job and earning money to live my life, it might not be much but its something. I felt grateful for all the supportive people in my life that surround me and how much kindness show me. Especially the newest person in my life, who has shown me a kindness I haven’t yet received from a partner.

We take things for granted. I take things for granted sometimes too. I have started waking up every morning and just thinking I am grateful that I am alive. Not many people have that chance anymore. The older I get the more I find people are passing away and disappearing. I learn that there is so much evil in the world and there is nothing I can do about it. I pray that even though I struggle some days with the war that goes on in my mind, that one day I will feel normal. But more than anything, I am grateful I am still here.

If you get a chance, take a moment to sit and think quietly about all the things going right in your life. We are surrounded by so much negativity in the media, it’s almost drummed into our heads that we should be negative. But when you take a second to think of the things going right and making you happy, you will get a warm feeling inside and it will make your day.

Always be grateful, I know I am from now on!

Love From Meg x


Leave a comment